Curry Laksa

I was given a packet of curry laksa to try by my boss who hails from the same country I’m from, Malaysia that is.OMG I was shocked that a pre made package tasted close to something made from scratch. I was excited to try it and finally got round to making it. This packet says it serves 6 but I guess it depends on how much curry you want to add to your noodles. Usually its serve with a lot of curry, as in deep soup bowl amount.

20160824_194906
Stuff I added to make it a meal.

The directions to prepare it is given though you can always add things to it that you want its all personal preference. Usually the basic ones have bean sprouts, a boiled egg, deep fried bean curd (or tofu goreng as we call it) and a mixture of bihon (thin rice noodles) and yellow noodles. The rest depends on who serves it and where you eat it.

20160824_201815
Making the curry I let the bean curd and shredded chicken cook in with the curry.
20160824_203310
The noodles, egg, bean sprouts and fish ball were cooked separately from the curry.
20160824_203412
This was the meal. It was delish

So basically apart from the noodles, bean sprouts, coconut milk and bean curd that the packet tells you to add, I added:

  • Fish balls (however many you like per serving)
  • Shredded chicken (1 large chicken breast for 2 people)
  • Boiled egg (usually half per person but SP declined the egg)

What also works with this are seafood stuff like prawns (yum!) for example. I also added more bean sprouts the second time I had this as I needed more veggie crunch of some sort. Just don’t overcook the bean sprouts, blanching them is more than sufficient.

I froze the left over curry and noodles into portions. You could always just cook enough noodles for however many meals you are preparing instead of the 600grams called for on the packet. So if you ever come across this packet (asian grocery stores, TNT in my case) give it a try. Laterz.

Sara xo

Leave a Reply

