Spiced Quinoa Salad

I can’t speak for everyone but after eating heavy meals my body craves something light, nutritious and healthy. I was browsing Pinterest and came across this taco quinoa salad which was pretty much a salad I’ve made before minus the taco and seasoning part and thought hey I’ll just throw in different spices and seasonings into my salad.

20160131_185808
Veggie prep for the quinoa

Spiced Quinoa Salad                                                                    Serves 4

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 avocado
  • egg (optional)
  • bread cubes (optional, I use the ones prepared for stuffing)
  • 1 cup cherry/grape tomatoes
  • 1 large celery stalk
  • 3 green onions
  • cilantro (whatever amount you want)
  • 3 tsp lime juice
  • 1/4 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • black pepper (to taste)
  • salt (to taste)
  • garlic powder (I just did a couple shakes from the bottle)

Directions:

  1. Cook the quinoa as per package directions (I generally do 1:1 ratio)
  2. Prep veggies while quinoa is cooking and boil an egg for each person (optional)
  3. Mix lime juice with the spices (I generally eyeball it, it is a matter of preference of taste/spiciness)
  4. Toss cooked quinoa with spice mix, when it has cooled down some add the veggies and toss and serve with your egg (cooked whatever way you want)
20160131_194045_wm
All tossed with the added egg (had a really yellow yolk for this batch)

 

Leave a Reply

