Cool Cucumber Lime Soap

So I had my first soap “fail”. Fail in the sense that it traced SO fast I panicked and didn’t do anything with it. Mind you this is only my third batch of cold process soap ever. So it may not be pretty but it looks useable to me, and smells amazing. I’m not gonna go into detail on how I made my soap because there are a lot of way cooler soapers resources out there on the web such as Soaping101 and Soap Queen to name a few.

IMG_3617
You can see there are little “holes” had trouble getting them out as it was too thick to work with.

Firstly I run my recipe through SoapCalc, and I knew I wanted to experiment with beeswax my third time round and I am not sure if it is largely the fault of the beeswax or my fragrance oil or just me, but this soap traced real quick (I think my proportion of beeswax was too high) and I couldn’t really pour it. So next time I will reduce my proportion of beeswax. Heres the recipe anyway..

Sara xo 🙂


Cool Cucumber Lime Soap                                               2lb wood loaf mold

  • 6 oz Coconut oil
  • 8 oz Olive Oil
  • 5 oz Beef Tallow
  • 2 oz Ricebran Oil
  • 1 oz Beeswax
  • 1 1/4 tsp Matcha Powder
  • 1 tsp Blue Lagoon mica
  • Cool Cucumber fragrance
  • Lime Fragrance
  • Lye (use soap calc for amount)
  • Distilled Water (use soap calc for amount)
Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 1.31.52 PM
This is what it looked liked when run through Soap Calc

Follow directions for cold process soap making and remember to add lye to the water not the other way around! The picture below shows that I added Matcha to the water that I mixed my lye in and used some of the water to mix my mica.

IMG_3620
Little rough around the edges but I can’t wait to try them out. The darker colour is the mica.

 

Leave a Reply

