Daily Skin Serum (Moisturizer)

I’d say it has been approximately 8 months since I’ve stopped using commercial moisturizers and replaced it with a homemade facial serum. I love it and will never go back to spending bucket loads of money on skin/face products. (I also make my own soaps, more to come later)

I’m lucky enough to have normal skin with the occasional hormonal breakouts. I do get a bit dry during the winter months or a slightly oily t-zone during hot days, but on the whole pretty normal. This serum I’ve come to like has been basically trials of different oil and essential oil combinations. (I do switch up my oils on occasion)

I usually use what I have on hand though my base oils generally stay the same. I use a 2 oz dark glass bottle with a dropper cap. My serum recipe is as follows (I do eyeball the amount generally)


Normal/Dry Skin Serum                                                            (1-2 drops per use)

  • 1/3 Rosehip oil
  • 1/3 Calendula oil
  • 1/3 Jojoba/ Sweet Almond/ Ricebran oil
  • 10-15 drops Essential oil  of choice (I use Tea tree, Lavender, Carrot seed/ Tea tree, Rose geranium, Frankincense)
  • Vitamin E (1 capsule)

Rosehip oil: full of vitamins, antioxidants, essential fatty acids, known to  hydrate dry itchy skin and helps with dark sots and scarring

Calendula oil: great for dry skin, protects from blemishes, heals cuts, antibacterial properties

Jojoba oil:closely resembles human sebum therefore great moisture retainer, helps reduce oiliness, antibacterial aids with acne, relieves itching and dryness for psoriasis and eczema

Rice bran oil:rich in vitamins, antioxidants, rich in fatty acids and vitamin E, improves elasticity, hydrating, improves skin surface, anti inflammatory

Sweet Almond oil: reduces dark circles, relieve eczema/ psoriasis, reduces signs of aging, clean out pores, high in fatty acids

This is just a general idea of what works for me, do your research on what oils suit your skin type and sensitivities as certain oils react differently for each individual. Jenni Raincloud has a great resource of skin care recipes as does the world wide web. Happy hunting

Sara xo 🙂

Leave a Reply

