Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies (The CCC)

After a long day on my feet, SP urged me to make some fresh batch of cookies and I was really hesitant initially because for one I just got back from work and it was 11pm and secondly I had to work in the morning. Well I caved and made a batch, though I only actually baked one tray worth because this recipe  is way better after the dough is chilled. This recipe was quick and easy I got it done in half an hour and I had a batch of cookie dough ready to go.

So…my favourite cookie of all time is the chocolate chip. I’ve scoured the web (aka Pinterest) and tried a number of variations of this cookie recipe and by far this is the favourite. Also this is SP’s preferred recipe. They are soft, chewy, moist and choc a block full of chocolate chips. If you prefer soft chewy cookies this is it.

IMG_3552

I cannot claim to be the inventor of this recipe, I originally found it at Averie Cooks and she has got some great recipes on her blog. I was out of chocolate chunks and low on chips so I just made do with what I had and added some left over butterscotch chips. Trust me if you think that looks chunky imagine WAY more chunks.

IMG_3547

The recipe yields ~ 28 medium-small cookies though I like my cookies bite size so it would be a bit more than that amount. The yield all depends on your choice of size.


Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter (softened)
  • 1/4 cup cream cheese (use regular not light or fat free)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips/chunks

Directions:

  1. Combine butter, cream cheese, sugars, egg and vanilla with a paddle attachment till light and fluffy on medium-high speed for about 5 minutes.
  2. Add flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt and mix until just combined.
  3. Add chocolate chips/chunks and fold in by hand until incorporated.
  4. Chill the dough for 2-3 hours either in the form of your cookies (scoop into a ball and flatten with palm slightly) or if you are lazy like me in the mixing bowl covered with saran wrap.
  5. Preheat oven to 350F, line your baking sheet with parchment paper place your cookies on the sheet about 2 inches apart and bake for about 8 minutes.

You can store these cookies baked for a week or 3 months if you freeze them. But lets be honest in my household they are gone in a flash. Enjoy!

Sara xo

Leave a Reply

