Indulgence..Ferrero Rocher Cake

I was fortunate enough (or not) to turn a year older recently. I was really looking forward to it because I had a cake I wanted to dig into on my mind. I came across this cake over 2 months before my birthday and had the will power to wait!

I came across this recipe on Moms Dish and let me tell you I was giddy like a school girl. SP thought I was crazy, a friend said she can try and make it but when I sent her the recipe she said sorry I can’t do it.

Initially I thought it would be too tasking but it came down to how much I love Nutella AND Ferrero Rocher…Together it was a no brainer for me to attempt and I’m glad I did because it wasn’t difficult at all, the most tedious part was decorating it. I did change it some, I made it in a 10″ cake pan instead so the ingredients are a bit more than what was posted on Moms Dish. Also every store I went to were all out of plain wafers so I bought some vanilla filled wafers.

IMG_3518.JPG


Ferrero Rocher Cake.                                                          12 servings (10″ round)

  • 7 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Granulated sugar
  • 2 cups Ground hazelnuts/ hazelnut flour
  • 3 tbsp All-purpose flour
  • 3 tsp Baking powder
  • 3 tbsp Cocoa powder
  • 300g Unsalted butter (room temperature)
  • 2 1/4 Chocolate chips/baking chocolate
  • 1/2 cup Nutella
  • 1 1/2 cup Crushed wafers
  • 12 Ferrero Rocher Candy
  • 3/4 cup Chopped hazelnuts

Whisk eggs and sugar till its tripled in volume, light and fluffy.

Sift flour cocoa and the baking powder and mix it with the ground hazelnuts.IMG_3504.jpg

Using a spatula gently fold in dry ingredients to the whipped egg and sugar in thirds. It important to be gentle to keep the structure of the cake. Pour batter into 10″ pan and bake at 350F for about 40 minutes. Cool cake on rack.

For the cream, decorations and filling, start by melting down chocolate in a double boiler. Whisk in together the chocolate with the Nutella and butter once chocolate has cooled down to room temperature.

IMG_3515

Chop the hazelnuts and crush the wafers. Once cake has cooled slice cake into half (or three’s if you wish) and spread cream evenly and sprinkle the wafers. Use left over cream to cover the rest of the cake and place chopped hazelnut everywhere! Well anywhere you wish on the cake.

Pipe some cream on top and place Ferrero Rocher candy on top. Let cake chill if not serving immediately. Let it sit out before serving if it has been chilled.

I think this cake would be marvellous with a Nutella butter cream icing as well. Something to try next time. Enjoy!

Sara xo

My post is not affiliated with the Ferrero company. I do not receive any compensation.
Leave a Reply

